Airline Rating: Turkish Airlines, Long Haul Economy 

Overall ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️.4

I haven’t rated nor reviewed an airline before, but I thought that as flying is very much a part of travel, I’ll try my hand at it. My rating is based on my family’s experience flying Turkish Airlines from New York City to Istanbul. Our ticket was for roundtrip New York City to Barcelona with a stop in Istanbul where we changed planes for the flight to Barcelona. My rating would be based on criteria that I value on a long flight. 

Seat Comfort ⭐️⭐️⭐️/5 

Photo taken on Turkish Airlines flight from NYC to Istanbul in February 2014.
 

I think the seats on the plane that flew us to Istanbul were narrow. It’s definitely not that different with the seats I’d experienced with other airlines, but the width of the seats did prevent me from comfortably moving. The legroom wasn’t bad as long as there wasn’t anything under the seat in front. The recline did not go far, 6 inches at the most. I think this was good as the person sitting in front of me reclined his chair the whole flight. I’m glad he couldn’t recline more. Otherwise, my face would have been plastered to the screen in front of me. I usually don’t recline my seat in consideration of the person behind me. At that time, I had to.

In-flight Entertainment ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5

Photo taken by my sister-in-law S.A.M.
 
I love the In-flight Entertainment on Turkish Airlines. Each seat has an entertainment screen. There are many movie, tv show, and music selections to choose from. I especially liked the Blockbuster and Award Winner categories. I’d never get bored aboard a long haul flight on Turkish Airlines. The challenge for me was taking a break from watching movies to grab a wink! 

Meals ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5 

Dinner aboard Turkish Airlines on the flight to Istanbul from New York; March 5, 2016
 
Turkish Airlines is one of the airlines that serve good palatable food. I liked everything they served during our flight, dinner and breakfast, even the all vegetable meal served two hours before our plane landed. With the food, flyers can have their choice of beverages including beer and wine. My husband and brother-in-law liked this very much! There was a note on our menu that customers may ask for a sandwich at anytime. 

Complimentary wine served with meals aboard Turkish Airlines, NYC-Istanbul, March 5, 2016

In-flight Service ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5

  
Turkish Airlines personnel are professional and efficient. They performed their duties well while communicating with politeness to their passengers. I have no complaints.

Extras ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5
  

Turkish Airlines goes an extra step compared with other airlines I had flown with. In long haul flights, they serve Turkish delight. My sister-in-law loved it so much she asked for another piece. The flight attendant gave her a whole bag. We feasted on Turkish delight on our drive to France from Spain. They also hand out comfort kits with toothbrush, toothpaste, lip balm, socks, slippers, and eye mask. On our flight, the kit and menu card were themed Batman v Superman based on the movie that’s coming out. The theme headlined Turkish Airlines flying to Gotham City/Metropolis! I should also mention the fluffier pillow and better quality blanket waiting at our seats when we boarded.

All in all, we had a good experience flying Turkish Airlines. Given the chance, I’d fly Turkish Airlines again. 

2 thoughts on “Airline Rating: Turkish Airlines, Long Haul Economy 

Leave a Reply

