Stone Mountain, Georgia

In Georgia, there is a city called Stone Mountain, and a mountain called Stone Mountain. I am writing about the mountain which I previously mentioned my husband and I visited on our birthday trip.

  
Stone Mountain is the site of Stone Mountain Park in the city of Stone Mountain. It is a rock hill with an elevation of 1,686 feet above the surrounding area. 

  
It is well known for the rock carving on its north face. The carving depicts three well known Confederates during the Civil War namely, Stonewall Jackson, Robert E. Lee, and Jefferson Davis.

  
Stone Mountain’s summit may be reached through an aerial tram or by a walk-up trail. My husband and I bought a one way ticket at the Skyride aerial tram, then hiked the mile long trail down. 

  
  
  
We were unaware that the trail ends at a different spot than where we parked our car. It was about another mile and a half walk from there to our parking spot. Needless to say, I had a pretty good walk the day we went up Stone Mountain. But it was a walk that I enjoyed tremendously. 

  

One thought on “Stone Mountain, Georgia

Leave a Reply

