Cleopatra’s Needle in New York City 

Did you know that there is an authentic ancient Egyptian obelisk in New York City?

I did not know this until I read a post about the ancient Egyptian obelisks in Rome which inspired me to look up obelisks in the United States. While googling the topic, Cleopatra’s Needle at Central Park in New York City came up! I was thrilled. So, of course, I had to go and see this ancient Egyptian obelisk, in the concrete jungle that is New York City.

  
It was a cold and windy 40 degrees Fahrenheit that felt like the 30’s when hubby and I went to see the Egyptian Obelisk, so there were only a handful of people checking it out.

   
At 69 feet tall, it is quite impressive. I definitely felt tiny while standing beside it!

  
Cleopatra’s Needle originally stood at the Egyptian City of Heliopolis around 1450 BC. It is made of red granite and inscribed with hieroglyphics.

   
 
It has a twin located in the city of Westminster in London on the Victoria Embankment. If I knew then what I know now, I would have made it a point to see it up close. As it is, this is one of the two pictures I have with the obelisk on it. It’s a picture taken aboard the London Eye. If you look closely enough, you’ll see it on this picture. I encircled it to prevent reader eye strain. 😄

  
Egypt’s government threatened to take back the Obelisk from New York in the past when it was not given much care and was in a state of deterioration. That was withdrawn when the city committed to make sure it is preserved for future generations to see.

  
When in New York City and the urge to see an authentic ancient obelisk strikes, stop by Central Park on the East Side at 81st Street. 

5 thoughts on “Cleopatra’s Needle in New York City 

    1. Indeed! It’s quite impressive as I haven’t seen an Egyptian original before. The obelisk is at the back of the Metropolitan Museum. Coincidentally, the MET hosts an Egyptian exhibit at the moment. Safe travels!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

