Destination: Lourdes and Barcelona 

Whew! After months of just talking about it, planning an itinerary, researching transportation and travel times, changing the point of origin, and starting all over, our group of 6 is finally booked! My hubby and I and 4 of my in-laws are headed to Lourdes, France via Barcelona, Spain this coming March! 💃🏻💃🏻💃🏻

Photographer: Jean Noël Lafargue, Wikipedia photo of Sanctuary of Our Lady of Lourdes

We are driving to Lourdes from Barcelona to visit the Sanctuary of Our Lady of Lourdes then drive back to Barcelona. 

In Barcelona, the Sagrada Familia is a must see for me. The basilica is 70% complete and has entered its final stage of construction, I read somewhere. I was told that the Boqueria is a worthwhile place to visit. It is a farmers market that locals also patronize. So, these two are among the places on my list to visit.
 

Photo by Bernard Gagnon, Wikipedia photo of Sagrada Familia
 

We will also check out Peñiscola, The City in the Sea, which is a fortified seaport with a lighthouse, and joined to the mainland by a narrow strip of land. 

 

Photo by Grodin.tierce, Wikipedia photo of Peñiscola from the beach

What I am most excited about visiting the area is the opportunity to eat authentic Valencian paella. The dish is a favorite of mine. We have a version of it in my home province in the Philippines which I love, but I know it’s not prepared the same way as the original Valencian paella.

 

Photo by Jan Harenburg on Wikipedia captioned traditional preparation of paella
 
An hour and a half drive from Peñiscola is Tarragona, a large seaside town. It has numerous historical sites like Tarraco, a UNESCO World Heritage Site complex of Roman ruins. We are also planning to visit the area and have some tapas.

The Philippines was under Spanish rule for 300 years until the end of the Spanish-American War in 1898. Spanish influence is noticeable in the churches and fiestas that Filipinos love. I’m so excited to see part of my ex-motherland! 😉

Photo by Cintxa, Wikipedia photo of Amphitheatre of Tarragona and the Mediterranean Sea

Any thoughts on Lourdes and Barcelona? Have you driven from Barcelona to Lourdes? I would love to hear about it. Tips are always welcome. Please do share!  

6 thoughts on “Destination: Lourdes and Barcelona 

  1. I didn’t know you were so fond of the paella… I know a good place in Valencia, it’s a shame you’re not going to make it there.. Anyway I’m sure you can find a good one even in Barcelona…just make sure to eat it directly from the pan (the “paella” indeed)!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If only Valencia is a bit closer to Barcelona! It would be great to have paella where the dish originated. Since Peñiscola is a Valencian community, I’m hoping the paella will be as close to the original as it could possibly get. :))

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

