On the Net: Utah’s Bingham Canyon Mine: One of The World’s Biggest Man-Made Holes | The Weather Channel

At nearly three miles across and 3/4 of a mile deep, Utah’s Bingham Canyon Mine is deep enough to fit two of Chicago’s Willis Towers stacked on top of one another.

Source: Utah’s Bingham Canyon Mine: One of The World’s Biggest Man-Made Holes | The Weather Channel

I was surprised when I saw this headline on my Facebook newsfeed recently.

  

I did not realize that Kennecott Copper Mine is not very popular. There was a brisk traffic of visitors when hubby and I were there three years ago. This was during one of my pre-blogging trips, so I don’t have lots of pictures to share. I learned from the exhibits at the visitor center that the Statue of Liberty is the tallest copper statue in the world. 

  
Also, metals from the mine were used for the medals in the 2002 Olympics.

  
The experience affirmed that art made of copper is indeed, beautiful!

  
If the Weather Channel headline on my Facebook newsfeed is true, I’m one of the lucky ones who have heard of Bingham Canyon Mine and seen it in person. 😉

   
   

Leave a Reply

