Tasty Tuesday: Huck Finn’s Catfish

“…and about the first thing we done was to bait one of the big hooks with a skinned rabbit and set it and catch a catfish that was as big as a man, being six foot two inches long, and weighed over two hundred pounds…” The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn

  

It looks like Huck Finn is impressed by the gigantic catfish he and his friend caught. He would be equally  impressed that a restaurant in Tennessee is named after him.

  
I love fish, but for some reason, catfish doesn’t appeal to me. This, however, did not stop me from agreeing with hubby to stop by Huck Finn’s Catfish in Pigeon Forge, Tennessee for dinner on our visit there in May. It must have been the sign that they serve chicken as well that gave me comfort.

  
I had eaten plenty of fried chicken on our trip to the South that it was time to have something else. It was a relief that Huck Finn’s Catfish does not exclusively serve catfish. So, I ordered the fish and chips on the menu knowing that it wasn’t catfish.

  
Hubby, of course, ordered the catfish. He had been craving for some since our plane touched down in Nashville. The air in the South affects him that way. Each time we are in the South, he always have to have catfish.

  
Every meal at Huck Finn’s start with beans, coleslaw, pickles, and onions. Our server told us it’s unlimited. I didn’t think we needed more than what she served. The beans and coleslaw had my name written all over them; the pickles, not so much, and the raw onion? No, thank you!

  
How about this gargantuan glass of pink lemonade! My eyes widened like saucers when the server placed it in front of me. It’s just what one needs on a warm summer day. Like, today. It’s 80 degrees outside. I wish I had pink lemonade in the fridge. Cold orange juice will have to suffice.

  
When you happen to be in Pigeon Forge, Tennessee, Huck Finn’s Catfish is waiting to be discovered. 

  
If fried catfish is your favorite, they definitely have it here.

 Non-catfish lovers need not worry. There are plenty other choices on offer.

I would rate Huck Finn’s Cat Fish a ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5. The restaurant lives up to its name. The decór and the food are rustic giving off a Huck Finn vibe. I liked it.

Are you a catfish fan? 

Leave a Reply

