Tailwind Scare

Not that I was really scared, I was more impatient rather than scared. But most of my travel mates were. I learned afterwards my vacation could have been delayed or cancelled! Whaaat???

IMG_3893
Our pilot had quite a challenge landing in Puerto Princesa airport due to very strong tailwind. Tailwind? Now, I have to google what this thing is.

IMG_3918
Apparently, landing with tailwind is not easy. It requires more runway.

IMG_3919
Not only does it require more runway, but also experienced pilots have more success in landing safely. I owe an apology to our flight captain for thinking he’s a neophyte. He landed the plane! I found out that a few planes were refused landing after three tries of unsuccessful tailwind landing. That made many vacationers unhappy. I feel for them. But here I am. On the ground in Puerto Princesa.

IMG_3882
And I am ready for some fun in the sun!

IMG_3890

References:
http://www.experimentalaircraft.info/flight-planning/aircraft-performance-4.php
http://i.word.com/idictionary/tailwind

2 thoughts on “Tailwind Scare

Leave a Reply

